I Don’t Wanna Grow Up

13 Jul

Every time I hear about a death of another legend, I feel older and closer to death myself. I was deeply saddened yesterday by news that drummer Tommy Ramone of The Ramones died Friday. He was the last original member of the band to go. They will be missed by all that enjoyed them. Through the music, they will no doubt live on.

It’s a sobering thought of how quickly life goes. Strangely enough, I just briefly mentioned them in a May Sleepy Sundays post.

I don’t wanna grow up.

 

12 Responses to “I Don’t Wanna Grow Up”

  1. Geo Sans July 13, 2014 at 11:10 PM #

    so sad
    ~
    ‘Cause lately it all sounds the same to me
    Oh oh oh oh, oh oh
    Rock N Roll Radio

    Like

  2. 1jaded1 July 13, 2014 at 7:45 PM #

    Very sad. Truly an end of an era. I don’t wanna grow up…

    Like

  3. diannegray July 13, 2014 at 6:22 PM #

    Awww – this is really sad. I’m listening to the song while I write – very poignant. You’re right, it’s the end of an era but they will live on through us listening to their music and spreading the word xxxx

    Like

    • DaydreamsInWonderland July 13, 2014 at 8:38 PM #

      It is, Dianne it is. They’re loved by so many. They’ll no doubt live on through the music.

      Like

  4. Samara July 13, 2014 at 12:07 PM #

    I was also very sad when I heard the news. I actually posted what you just said on my facebook page- that it was the end of an era.

    Thanks for taking the time to commemorate him, and their music, here. You’re the best, sweetie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • DaydreamsInWonderland July 13, 2014 at 12:10 PM #

      I totally cried a little, Samara. I know – I’m a big baby. Still, I’m gonna miss them so much. Won’t ever stop me from blasting their music. :)

      Like

      • Samara July 13, 2014 at 2:56 PM #

        Oh, J (can I use that here? Tell me if I shouldn’t)-
        I’m a big mush. I cry over things like this, too.
        It’s not just that the Ramones were amazing, and his death was sad. It’s as you said- the end of an era. The last original member of a band that helped define punk music is gone.

        I have stories about Joey Ramone I want to tell, but don’t. Now that I know you love their music, remind me some time to tell you. :)

        Liked by 2 people

        • DaydreamsInWonderland July 13, 2014 at 3:02 PM #

          Yeah. You can use that here. Rara & Kozo both call me J. It is sad. You will have to tell me – I bet it’s awesome.

          Like

  5. Eva July 13, 2014 at 10:14 AM #

    My brother is the biggest Ramones fan. They were the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    • DaydreamsInWonderland July 13, 2014 at 10:47 AM #

      They really were. My heart ached a bit when I heard the news. I knew it marked the end of an era. Tell your brother I feel his pain. They certainly were the best.

      Like

.♥ Start building your castle ♥.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 937 other followers

